Posted by: Shula Asher Silberstein | 11 September 2010

Happy Birthday Gavi!!!

Gavi’s birthday was yesterday. I felt bad because I couldn’t afford to buy her the present I really wanted to buy her: a plaque that said

She isn’t where she has been.
She isn’t quite where she is going…
but she’s getting there.

.

I thought it was just perfect for Gavi. She has come a long, long, long way and I am extremely proud of her. Most of that story is hers to tell, not mine, but you can check some of it out at my new Squidoo lens. We are both excited to be able to use her story to help other LGBTQ people who are struggling with suicide.

Anyway, I’m a little frustrated about the lack of money. Lately Demand Studios has been taking a long time to approve posts, and some of my posts are being returned for spurious rewrites, so we are short of money (not to mention that my stats are going down). I’m hoping to get back to being focused this week after feeling mainly unmotivated to write since I wasn’t getting paid. I need the money and to continue with the exposure until Shades of Gay is published. At the same time, there is so much to do to promote Shades of Gay that Demand Studios work is starting to feel like an imposition.

No wonder I can’t find a romantic partner. I have very little time for anything at the moment, it seems.

I’m not really complaining though, because I’m so excited about everything that’s going on. I’m impatient for Shades of Gay to be published and to start earning money with it so that I can get out of this poverty/frustration/not getting paid nightmare.

Anyway I gave Gavi a more precious gift than the plaque. I helped start her on the road of self acceptance and self discovery. I’m glad she’s still here today and is inspiring people by being herself.

Leave a Reply

Categories

